Meth Labs, Home Depot, and a Big Yellow Taxi

The day was sunny and perfect for a drive when I headed out to Lebanon, Maine where a new beekeeping supplies store had recently opened.  It meant almost two hours in the car but I needed to pick up a couple things so I brought along some good music and enjoyed some quiet time to myself.  And my mind wandered to wondering about how Joni Mitchell feels about Star Thistle.

The trip took me through a cross section of southern Maine:  parts are pastoral and beautiful; other parts are a little ramshackle; and parts are peppered with newly constructed commercial developments.  I had mixed feelings as I passed yet another Lowe’s hardware store, Olive Garden restaurant, and Walgreen’s drug.  Economic vitality is satisfying to see in a state that’s seen more than its share of financial downturn, but the cookie-cutter sameness of it always gives me a bit of melancholy.

But I had started off the day thinking about invasive spotted knapweed in Michigan.  I’d been reading an article a massive eradication program underway in that state and how what’s considered a plus for the environment is a big loss for the local beekeepers.  “Star Thistle” (as it is known to its fans) is a huge source of honey in places where it grows and it is unknown if and when the native plants will replace that nectar source.  Where I live there is a plant that some people lovingly call bamboo but others recognize as an invasive non-native plant, Japanese knotweed.  It makes the most amazing honey – deep reddish amber, slow to crystallize, and entirely delicious.  I have some neighbors who struggle endlessly to eradicate it and others who cut it back every year and enjoy it as a dense border planting.  I don’t take sides, though I know my honeybees’ pollinating efforts are helping the knotweed to thrive vigorously.

I have a well-educated friend who considers honeybees themselves to be an invasive non-native.  She says the honeybees push out native pollinators like bumblebees.  Certainly honeybees are non-native; they were brought over by European settlers.  Native Americans recognized the “white man’s fly” moved westward just ahead of European agricultural settlements.  But I have another well-educated friend who insists honeybees, by helping plants thrive, actually improve the environment in an area for all nectar-loving pollinators.  I haven’t done enough research to take sides on this debate, but I would pay admission to see the aforementioned sharp-witted and dynamic women have the argument.

My position on honeybees is well known; I think they’re amazing.  In a work of evolutionary master-stroke bees have developed societal behavior and work communally in the superorganism of the hive.  This more advanced evolution gives them an enormous advantage over their more solitary competitors.  Though they don’t necessarily compete in a zero-sum game.  Other nectar-loving pollinators (like bumblebees, hummingbirds, etc.) forage at different blossoms and at different times of the day.

Invasive plants definitely crowd out their competitors.  Spotted knapweed, once established, releases a chemical to make surrounding soil unattractive to other plants.  Nasty, but you have to kind of admire the chutzpah.  And there seem to be plenty of invasive plants that take advantage of the honeybees’ prolific pollinating ability, and not all of them non-native.  Just ask someone who’s tried to get a field of goldenrod or sumac under control.

Maybe philosophically I should be consistent with my biases but that’s not how I’m wired up.  I’m pro-honeybee.  They’re non-native, but are they invasive?  I’m not sure how I stand on non-native plants, but I don’t hear a lot of complaints about non-native crocuses creeping across property lines.  And I have a self-servingly ambivalent opinion about invasive plants, at least some of them.

Just as one man’s star thistle is another man’s spotted knapweed, one man’s suburban sprawl is another man’s favorite hardware store.  As for my opinion on that, I’ll leave it to Joni Mitchell to explain:

About inthebeeloudglade

An unlikely beekeeper who runs The Honey Exchange, a hive and honey store in Portland, Maine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meth Labs, Home Depot, and a Big Yellow Taxi

  1. Thanks to us, and irrevocably, Nature is not a static diorama. Given that biodiversity seems to be the Greatest Good, the challenge as I see it is to identify the underdogs in this era of globalization, and subsidize them. So, blog request: Please tell me what bumbles eat that honeys do not? Oh! Ladyslippers, which are for sale at the New England Wildflower Society in Mass.! Road Trip!

  2. Hannah, it’s unclear whether you are satisfied with your own answer or if you really want me to do some homework. I don’t know off the top of my head what bumbles eat exclusively but I do know they forage at different hours. Being fatties they fly at cooler temperatures, so you’ll see them out earlier and later in the day.
    And where is the NEWS in MA? And if you’re really going to roadtrip I’ll give you a big wad of cash to get me some ladyslippers. I’ve been trying to find some for my yard for years.

  3. Gregg says:

    Phil,
    After a long internet search, I was able to get 16 seeds of the Northern New England variety of liatris (quite rare). After 6 weeks in the frig in a plastic bag mixed with soil to break dormancy (no small feat given the size of our frig), 13 have germinated. With some luck, the Willow Street Meadow may one day have the rarest honey of all, Endangered NE liatris honey. 20 other Native but locally rare meadow plants are germinating in the garage as we speak… Hopefully your brood won’t attack when I start to plant.
    Gregg

    • Let me know if the bees bug you. We can screen up the entrances in the morning if they become troublesome and let them out when you’re done digging.
      Brett hasn’t reported any trouble in the last two springtimes but we can err on the side of caution if you’d like.

      • Gregg says:

        Will do. And no troubles from Brett & Morgan or Judy on the Other side of the fence (she was anxious but has settled down)

Leave a Reply

